## I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2008 (SECOND) Regular Session

Introduced by:

Efec. Comm. Resolution No. 235

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D. T.R.Muña-Barnes Dr. David L.G. Shir

RELATIVE TO COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE MEMBERS OF THE 47<sup>TH</sup> UNIVERSITY OF GUAM **STUDENT** GOVERNMENT **ASSOCIATION** AS **THEY** ASSUME OFFICE FOR THE 2008-2009 ACADEMIC YEAR AND TO THANK THE MEMBERS AND ADVISORS OF THE 46TH UNIVERSITY **OF GUAM STUDENT** GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION FOR THEIR SERVICE, COMMITMENT, AND DILIGENCE DURING THE 2007-2008 ACADEMIC YEAR.

- BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN 1
- **GUÅHAN:** 2
- WHEREAS, the 2008 2009 academic year rings in a new era of 3
- stewards tasked with ensuring that students have a voice in the fulfillment of 4
- 5 the mission of the University of Guam; and
- WHEREAS, the members of the 47th University of Guam Student 6
- Government Association (UOG SGA) include Benjamin Franklin Aguon Leon 7
- 8 Guerrero II, President; Remylynn M. Burlaza, Vice-President; Jason G.
- Aradanas, Treasurer; Leilani P. Sablan, Secretary; Senators Faedene Aldan, 9
- 10 Zard Eli J Apuya, Joaquin Diego, Paciano N. Gumataotao, Aubry Gale M.

- 1 Hocog, Angelica T. Mantanona, Lisa Maureen Meeks, Charles Santos, Phoebe
- 2 B. Tadeo, Darlene Mae Vigil and Kay Francis Yamashita; and
- 3 WHEREAS, as members of the 47th UOG SGA, they will carry forward
- 4 the work of past student governments while ensuring that opportunities for
- 5 self-expression remain and the formation of new and improved educational
- 6 programs continues; and
- 7 WHEREAS, the 47th UOG SGA, as stated in its preamble, is set to
- 8 practice the principles of democracy, provide services, coordinate activities for
- 9 UOG students, and encourage cultural unity among members of the
- 10 institution and the island-community; and
- WHEREAS, the members of the 46th UOG SGA include: Benjamin F.A.
- 12 Leon Guerrero II, President; Darlene Mae Vigil, Vice President; Danny L.
- 13 Harrell, Treasurer; Christina P. Martinez, Secretary; and Jason G. Aradanas,
- 14 Interim Vice-President, Interim Treasurer Angelica Mantanona, Interim
- 15 Secretary Leilani Sablan, and Senators Zard Eli J Apuya, Brian A. Biacan,
- 16 Remylynn Burlaza, Joaquin Diego, Paciano N. Gumataotao, Artemio R.
- 17 Hernandez, Aubry Gale Hocog, Angelica T. Mantanona, John Francis
- 18 Saavedra, Sheena Sanders, Ann Catherine D. Villaluz, and Kay Francis
- 19 Yamashita; and
- WHEREAS, those advisors that provided guidance to the 46th UOG
- 21 SGA include: Senior Advisor Dr. Richard Matheny, Division of
- 22 Social/Behavioral Sciences; Senior Advisor Dr. Ansito Walter, Division of

- 1 Public Administration; and Advisor Dr. Michael Griffin, Communications &
- 2 Fine Arts; and
- 3 WHEREAS, through their experience with the UOG SGA and the
- 4 education attained at the University of Guam, the SGA members of today are
- 5 destined to become tomorrow's leaders; now, therefore, be it
- 6 **RESOLVED**, that I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does
- 7 hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, commend
- 8 and congratulate all the members of the 47th University of Guam Student
- 9 Government Association, and wish them great success during the 2008 2009
- 10 academic year; and be it further
- 11 **RESOLVED**, that I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does
- 12 hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people of Guam, thank all
- 13 the members and advisors of the 46th University of Guam Student
- 14 Government Association for their service, commitment, and diligence during
- 15 the 2007 2008 academic year; and be it further
- 16 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the
- 17 Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be
- 18 thereafter transmitted to Mr. Benjamin Franklin Aguon Leon Guerrero II,
- 19 President, 46th & 47th University of Guam, Student Government Association;
- 20 to Dr. Julie Ulloa-Heath, Dean of Enrollment Management and Student
- 21 Services at the University of Guam; to Dr. Robert Underwood, President,
- 22 University of Guam; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen
- 23 Guåhan.

DULY	AND	REGULARLY	<b>ADOPTED</b>	BY $I$	MINA'BENTE	NUEBI	NA
LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 29th DAY OF AUGUST 2008.							

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Speaker

Senator and Secretary of the Legislature